Feb. 26, 2020

HARRISBURG— Rep. Marcia Hahn (R- Northampton County) today announced the School Safety and Security Committee has awarded $915,000 in School Safety and Security Grants to school districts in the 138th Legislative District, including Bethlehem Area, Nazareth Area, Northampton Area and Pen Argyl Area School Districts.

The 17-member committee within the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency was created as part of Act 44 of 2018, a comprehensive school safety law passed in 2018. One of its duties is to help distribute both meritorious and competitive grants.

“It is my pleasure to announce these grants. They are truly an investment into our area’s most precious resource: our young people,” Hahn said. “This funding will make possible the installation of essential security equipment and improvements to safety training that will positively impact the wellbeing of our children.”

Those receiving grants locally are:

• Bethlehem Area School District – $385,000.
• Nazareth Area School District – $45,000.
• Northampton Area School District – $450,000.
• Pen Argyl Area School District – $35,000.

The 138th District consists of the townships of Bethlehem, Bushkill, East Allen, Hanover, Lower Nazareth, Moore and Plainfield, plus the boroughs of Bath, Chapman, Pen Argyl and Wind Gap.

Representative Marcia Hahn
138th Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Michael Plummer
RepHahn.com / Facebook.com/RepHahn